PopWatch Entertainment Weekly's PopWatch Blog

Tag: EWwys (1-10 of 34)

EWwys: 'New Girl' stars Zooey Deschanel and Jake Johnson accept their awards -- LISTEN!

New Girl scored a hat trick in the 6th Annual EWwys, EW.com’s reader-voted awards for the Emmy-snubbed: Stars Zooey Deschanel (Best Actress), Jake Johnson (Best Actor), and Max Greenfield (Best Supporting Actor) each took home a golden ewe when winners were announced yesterday. Deschanel and Johnson phoned in to Entertainment Weekly Radio’s TV Recap hour to accept their honors. They also teased the Fox comedy’s Sept. 17 season 3 premiere, which finds the new couple vacationing in Mexico, along with who might already be trying to break them up. Listen to the chats below with EW’s Dalton Ross, Jessica Shaw, and Mandi Bierly.


EWwys: Tony Goldwyn and John Noble accept their awards -- LISTEN!

There was no election rigging in the the 6th Annual EWwys, EW.com’s reader-voted awards for the Emmy-snubbed, but we did exercise our veto power and move him into our lead actor category when he submitted as supporting to the Emmys. That’s a decision he explained when he phoned in to Entertainment Weekly Radio’s TV Recap hour to accept his honor on Friday. The Best Supporting actor EWwy, meanwhile, went once again to Fringe‘s John Noble, who’s now a three-time winner. How appreciative is he of the fans’ support, even after the series has ended? He allowed EW’s Dalton Ross, Jessica Shaw, and Mandi Bierly to phone him at 12:20 a.m. in Sydney. (He also teased that he’ll be Stateside again soon to shoot another guest spot on The Good Wife for that show’s 100th episode.) Listen to both chats below. READ FULL STORY

EWwys: 'Orphan Black' co-creators and star Tatiana Maslany celebrate their wins -- LISTEN!

Leave it to BBC America’s Orphan Black to figure out how to clone our sheep trophies. The show took home two today when winners of EW.com’s 6th Annual reader-voted EWwy Awards, which honor the Emmy-snubbed, were announced live on Entertainment Weekly Radio’s TV Recap hour. Orphan Black co-creators John Fawcett and Graeme Manson dialed in to accept the Best Drama honor, while star Tatiana Maslany phoned after she was named Best Actress. (She had 43 percent of the vote in her category, which had this year’s largest margin of victory — 3,331 votes.) Listen to them chat with EW’s Dalton Ross, Jessica Shaw, and Mandi Bierly below.* Because someone was out scouting a location for season 2 (which will premiere in April 2014), we got a bit of bonus scoop. READ FULL STORY

EWwys: Amy Poehler accepts Best Comedy Series for 'Parks and Recreation' -- LISTEN!

The winners of the 6th Annual EWwys, EW.com’s reader-voted awards for the Emmy-snubbed, were announced live today on Entertainment Weekly Radio’s TV Recap hour. NBC’s Parks and Recreation was crowned Best Comedy Series, and star/producer Amy Poehler dialed in from the makeup chair to accept the award on the show’s behalf — and to also break the news to Adam Scott that he finished second in the Best Actor, Comedy race. Listen to the chat below with EW’s Dalton Ross, Jessica Shaw, and Mandi Bierly.* Poehler also teases the show’s hour-long Sept. 26 season 6 premiere and confirms she and Tina Fey will be presenting together at the Emmys on Sept. 22.

We look forward to delivering the cast’s EWwy trophies and seeing Poehler’s in Leslie’s office. READ FULL STORY

EWwy Awards: Final call! Vote for your Emmy-snubbed favorites here!


Voting for the sixth annual EWwy Awards honoring the Emmy-snubbed ends Thursday, Sept. 12, at noon ET. So if you haven’t cast your ballot, do it now with the 10 polls below. Winners will be announced live on Entertainment Weekly Radio (SiriusXM 105) this Friday during the TV Recap hour with Dalton Ross and Jessica Shaw (starting at 10 a.m. ET), followed by the reveal on EW.com at 11 a.m. ET. Who will take home a golden ewe? You decide!

'Scandal,' 'Rectify,' 'Orphan Black,' and more hit the EWwy campaign trail: Vote for your Emmy-snubbed favorites now!


In EW’s sixth annual EWwy Awards honoring the Emmy-snubbed, there’s no prize for creative campaigning. But if there was, the Scandal and Rectify teams would be serious contenders for a golden ewe. (Update: Orphan Black, too!) Check out their propaganda below, then head to the polls to vote. Click through the drama nominees here, and the comedy nominees here.

You’ll view each category’s nominees before seeing a poll to register your pick. Voting continues through noon ET on Sept. 12. (So it’s not too late for other nominees to get in on the action.) Winners will be announced Sept. 13.

EWwys voting is on! Races are close -- like 10 votes close


Yes, it’s the weekend, which means you should have plenty of time to scroll through the nominees for the 6th Annual EWwy Awards, which honor the Emmy-snubbed, and vote for your favorites. As I’m typing this, 10 votes separate first and second place in one category; 46 votes in another, and 194 votes in a third. You could be the difference between someone having to explain why they have a tiny statue of a black gold sheep on their mantle and someone not having that pleasure.  Vote now!

EW's sixth annual EWwy Awards for the Emmy-snubbed: Voting starts now!


It’s September, which means it’s once again time for the EWwys, EW.com’s annual awards honoring the shows, actors, and actresses that should’ve been nominated for an Emmy but weren’t. Check out the nominees in the five EWwy Comedy categories and vote for your favorites here. Click through the nominees in the five EWwy Drama categories and cast your votes here. Polls will remain open through Sept. 12. Winners will be announced Sept. 13. Campaigning is welcome. There are trophies involved, after all, to which last year’s big winners can attest:

'Community' actors accept their EWwy Awards -- VIDEO


Community dominated the comedy categories in EW’s 5th annual EWwy Awards, winning Best Comedy with 49 percent of the vote. We recently dropped by the set to hand-deliver the cast’s tiny golden Ewe statuettes so they could 1.) poke fun at the them, and 2.) sincerely praise/thank the show’s fans, who they know are the reason they’ve got a fourth season premiering Oct. 19 on NBC.

Watch Joel McHale, Gillian Jacobs, Alison Brie, and Danny Pudi accept the Best Comedy EWwy in the first video below. In the second, McHale, Brie, and Pudi celebrate their individual EWwy wins by teasing the new season. READ FULL STORY

'Fringe' actors accept their EWwy Awards -- VIDEO

The actors on Fringe may have gotten teary at Comic-Con talking about the end of the series, but on set last week, they sang a stronger tune. They’re about halfway through filming their final season, and the end game still seems like a distant future, most said.

But when EW handed Anna Torv a pair of tiny golden Ewes — her awards for winning Best Actress in a Drama and Best Drama in EW’s 5th annual EWwys — that’s when she began to tear up. And who can blame her? 1) The sheep are adorable. And 2) as you’ll hear her say, the statues come from the people who kept the show alive for five years.

Click below to watch Torv, John Noble, and former executive producer Jeff Pinkner accept their bounty. (Note: We made sure Josh Jackson got his as well!)

UPDATEFringe executive producer/showrunner J.H. Wyman also shared some kind words! “On behalf of everyone involved in Fringe, I want to take a moment to thank all of our incredible fans who voted and have made Fringe the winner of Entertainment Weekly’s Best Drama Series EWwy Award for the third year in a row,” he tells EW. “We are honored to have had such a dedicated and loyal fanbase supporting this show over the years, and we are working overtime to deliver an unforgettable fifth and final season.”

Latest Videos


TV Recaps

Powered by WordPress.com VIP